Senate Bill 160, known as “Roberta’s Law”, became effective on March 22, 2013. Roberta’s Law expands victim notification rights enumerated in Ohio Revised Code section 2930.16 as they relate to certain inmate release or transfer proceedings. If the inmate is convicted of Aggravated Murder, Murder, a first, second or third degree offense of violence or is serving a life sentence, the victim will be automatically notified of specified events, regardless of whether the victim has requested notification. Roberta’s Law also provides an opt-out mechanism for those victims who do not wish to be automatically notified of certain inmate release and transfer proceedings. In order to opt out of receiving these notifications a “Victim Notification Opt Out” form must be on file with the Office of Victim Services. The signed “Victim Notification Opt Out” form can be mailed or emailed to the contact information listed below.
If you are a victim of a crime and would like to register for notification regarding an Ohio inmate, please complete the Victim Notification form. Upon receipt of your notification form, the Office of Victim Services will process your request and you will receive a confirmation letter.
- Complete an online registration and print a copy for your records.
- Print a blank Victim Notification Form, and submit via U.S. Mail, email or fax
- Print a blank Victim Notification Opt Out Form and submit via U.S. Mail or email
Office of Victim Services
4545 Fisher Road, Suite D
Columbus, OH 43228
PLEASE NOTE: In addition to the registration above, victims can also register with VINE (Victim Information and Notification Everyday) to have the most comprehensive notification services possible. VINE links county sheriff and statewide correctional facilities to make the status of offenders available 24 hours-a-day, 365 days-a-year.
Anyone may call the toll-free VINE hotline 1-800-770-0192 to access custody information, available in English and Spanish. Callers may also register directly with VINE to receive telephone or email notification of changes in custody. A live operator is available 24 hours-a-day to assist callers in accessing information or registering for notification. When registering for VINE, please have the following information: offender name, inmate number (for county inmates), or institution number (for state prison or juvenile offenders).
Parole Board Victim Notification Section
Victims of inmates incarcerated in Ohio's prisons may register with the Victim Notification Section of the Parole Board. Registered victims will be notified prior to release consideration hearings. Victims may write to the Ohio Parole Board or personally voice their concerns in an appointment with an Ohio Parole Board staff member. Appointments are scheduled by the Office of Victim Services when requested by a victim, victim’s family or designated victim representative. Victims Conference Day which is held once a month for this purpose.
The victim or designated representative wishing to provide additional statements and/or information to the Ohio Parole Board and/or Adult Parole Authority should send those documents to: Office of Victim Services, 4545 Fisher Road, Suite D, Columbus, OH 43228.
Restricting Calls from Incarcerated Individual(s) or a Specific Incarcerated Individual: If you have received a telephone call from an Ohio prison and wish to restrict further calls from all Ohio prisons or from a specific incarcerated individual, please call Customer Call Center at 1-877-650-4249 and follow the telephone prompts for this service.